CHEATHAM COUNTY CLERK
Tennessee's Marriage license requirements are as follows:
- You must have two valid forms of ID, one being a Photo ID.
- Both parties must be present and have proof that they are 18 or older. A driver license, state issued birth certificate or passport is acceptable forms of identification for this purpose. There is no waiting period and no blood test required. If either party is under the age of 18 they must be accompanied by his/her parents. Tennessee law does not permit those under the age of 16 to marry without a court order.
- A photo identification card. A driver license, photo ID card, valid passport are acceptable.
The fee for a marriage license is $100.00. Applicants who have proof of completing a premarital preparation course within one year of making application pay $40.00. The marriage license is good for thirty days. The Application of Marriage form and the Certificate of Completion form are available for download.
For more information call the County Clerk's Office at 615-792-5179 or visit the State of Tennessee website at www.tennessee.gov.