MINUTES CHEATHAM COUNTY LEGISLATIVE BODY SPECIAL CALLED SESSION October 12, 2017

BE IT THEREFORE REMEMBERED, That the Cheatham County Legislative Body met in the General Sessions Courtroom, Ashland City, Tennessee, on October 12, 2017 in Special Called Session. Chairman Pro Tem Mr. Tim Williamson and County Clerk Ms. Teresa Gupton presided. County Mayor Mr. Kerry McCarver and County Attorney Mr. Michael Bligh attended.

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

BETTY RAMSEYDONNIE JORDANGARY BINKLEYWALTER WEAKLEYANN JARREAUDIANA PIKE LOVELLTIM WILLIAMSONEUGENE O. EVANS, SR.DALE MCCARVERSHANON PICKARDCONNIE MAYOJIMMY HEDGEPATH

THE MEETING WAS CALLED TO ORDER by Sheriff Mr. Mike Breedlove at 7:01 P.M.

Invocation was offered by Mr. Jeff Bennett.

County Clerk Ms. Teresa Gupton called the roll. There being Ten Commissioners present, Chairman Pro Tem Mr. Tim Williamson declared a Quorum. <u>See Resolution 1.</u>

Betty Ramsey	Present	Donnie Jordan	Absent
Gary Binkley	Present	Walter Weakley	Present
Ann Jarreau	Present	Diana Pike Lovell	Present
Tim Williamson	Present	Eugene O. Evans, Sr.	Present
Dale McCarver	Present	Shanon Pickard	Present
Connie Mayo	Present	Jimmy Hedgepath	Absent

PUBLIC FORUM: Chairman Pro Tem Mr. Tim Williamson opened Public Forum at 7:03 P.M.

Public Forum closed at 7:04 P.M.

Mr. Gary Binkley thanked all the candidates for taking time to apply for the 1st District vacancy on the School Board.

Motion was made by Mr. Gary Binkley, seconded by Ms. Diana Lovell to nominate William Jeffery Bennett, David Anderson, Don Azbill and Jane Crisp for the vacant 1st District School Board Member.

For clarification, Chairman Pro Tem Mr. Tim Williamson stated if a nominee is not elected by majority vote in the first round the candidate with the least amount of votes will not be included in the subsequent round.

Vote for 1st District School Board Member approved by roll call vote 7 Bennett 3 Crisp. <u>See</u> <u>Resolution 2.</u>

Betty Ramsey	Bennett	Donnie Jordan	Absent
Gary Binkley	Crisp	Walter Weakley	Bennett
Ann Jarreau	Crisp	Diana Pike Lovell	Bennett
Tim Williamson	Bennett	Eugene O. Evans, Sr.	Bennett
Dale McCarver	Bennett	Shanon Pickard	Bennett
Connie Mayo	Crisp	Jimmy Hedgepath	Absent

Motion was made by Mr. Gary Binkley, seconded by Mr. Eugene O. Evans, Sr. to appoint Mr. William Jeffery Bennett as 1st District School Board Member to fill the unexpired term of Mr. David Bibee.

Motion approved by roll call vote 10 Yes 0 No 2Absent. See Resolution 3.

Betty Ramsey	Yes	Donnie Jordan	Absent
Gary Binkley	Yes	Walter Weakley	Yes
Ann Jarreau	Yes	Diana Pike Lovell	Yes
Tim Williamson	Yes	Eugene O. Evans, Sr.	Yes
Dale McCarver	Yes	Shanon Pickard	Yes
Connie Mayo	Yes	Jimmy Hedgepath	Absent

County Clerk Ms. Teresa Gupton administered the Oath of Office to Mr. William Jeffery Bennett.

Mr. Gary Binkley congratulated Mr. William Jeffery Bennett.

There being no further business to discuss, motion was made by Mr. Gary Binkley, seconded by Mr. Eugene O. Evans, Sr. to adjourn at 7:15 P.M.

Motion approved by voice vote. See Resolution 4.

County Clerk

Legislative Body Chairman